Tailored Learning: Your personalized Path to Knowledge

Unleashing the Power of Publications, Video and Hands-on Training//Issue 005

Welcome back to The Beekeeper’s Blueprint! Or perhaps this is your first time here. You are also welcome 😉.

The focus of this week is to give you resources depending on how you like to learn beekeeping, whether it’s by reading books, watching videos, hands-on courses or all of the above, so that you get the MOST out of your beekeeping season!

Everything I have for you today will lead you to Real Demonstration & Advice at my YouTube Channel: The Hive Doctor, after each section or so.

Beekeeping is an experiential-based skill and I want to help you in the best ways that I can.

Here’s an outline of today’s beekeepery things for you:

How do you like to learn? We’re going to talk about…

  • #1- Beekeeping Books for you and other publications.

  • #2- Beekeeping Videos for you (and not just my own).

  • #3- Hands-on, or at least on-line courses for you.

Now let’s get into the core of each learning method.

Method #1: Beekeeping by the Books.

First off let’s make one thing clear about this method; I’m not referring to only books but also anything published like magazines, newsletters 😉, blogs and forums. I’m not sure about forums, they’re not really my cup of tea because they lack structure 🤣. I will therefore not be covering those.

Here’s my beekeeping book collection. Do you have any of these?

I’m going to briefly give you the “what’s up” about each of these publication types so that you know which ones to give a try. You may find one of them interesting that you’ve never before considered.

-Books: Because it’s the easiest and there’s SO many of them.

  • Books should be considered the long-game of learning. They’re not little snippets of nothing. They are created in long form specifically for giving the reader the bigger picture about a specific aspect of something, in this case beekeeping and often a step by step of that bigger picture, narrowed down into the niche of that particular book and author.

  • There’s a ton of different beekeeping books, though mostly aimed at beginners and very few for intermediate or advanced beekeeping method, however they are out there. The advantage of this is that you have SO much to choose from and by reading through the titles on Amazon for example, you are more than likely to find one that strikes your fancy.

-Magazines: Usually a monthly or quarterly subscription base.

They are easier to choose from because there are less to choose from and they are specialized towards differing beekeeping levels of experience and interest. Here are two publications that I recommend getting a subscription to depending on what you’re looking for:

  • American Bee Journal (ABJ), established in 1861 and printed monthly. Published by Dadant & Sons, Readership is concentrated among hobby and commercial beekeepers, bee supply dealers, queen breeders, package-bee shippers, honey packers, and entomologists.

  • Bee Culture, established in 1873 and printed monthly. This publication focuses on the basics for beginners getting into beekeeping and helping them understand a plethora of beginner information including honey bee forage.

  • You can order your own subscriptions by clicking either publication title above. (I subscribe to ABJ).

-Beekeeping Blogs: Here are two of many examples you could follow.

  • Beekeeping Like a Girl. Hilary Kearney is a young California beekeeper who writes for those wanting to learn more in a fun way! She is also author of the book, Queenspotting, available here.

  • Honey Bee Suite. A blog that truly explores the perceived benefits of honey bees versus the threats; a pros & cons if you will. I like this one because the author doesn’t follow traditional “ways you should do things” without first exploring things through.

Method #2- Beekeeping Videos, online demonstration and how-to.

Videos have one huge advantage over books; you get to actually SEE what’s happening and/or HEAR another perspective on different beekeeping methods.

By now if you have been following me along for a while then you know that I have my own YouTube Channel under The Hive Doctor. I appreciate everyone who subscribes to my channel HOWEVER! I am going to give you a few other options for the sake of variety and style.

  • David Burns. He focuses on helping beekeepers maintain thriving colonies for the purpose of making beekeeping a business.

  • The Bush Bee Man. He likes to cover a variety of topics for beekeepers. (Pretty descriptive eh?)

  • Beekeeping University. This guy has a very straightforward way of delivering some great content. I can tell he knows what he is talking about.

  • A Canadian Beekeeper’s Blog. This guy is a hard-core commercial beekeeper who knows the in and outs, and how to figure out what works and what doesn’t.

Here are some of my YouTube Channel videos to help you with this:

Method #3: Hands-on or online Beekeeping Courses for you!

Before I get deeper into this method of learning, I am really curious if you would ever seriously consider taking an online course. Let me know by clicking an answer:

Would you seriously consider taking an online beekeeping course?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

Okay thanks! I really appreciate knowing that because we don’t all have a Hands-on course available to us. It requires a knowledgable, experienced beekeeper AND they need to be proactive about educating their locality.

It can be rare finding both qualities together which is why I am in the process of developing a series of online beekeeping courses for all levels! (I will let you know when it’s ready) 😉 

I need help!!

Hands-on courses are not a common beekeeping resource but I will do my best to help you be more aware of how you can find one. Here are some things to consider:

  • Beekeepers are everywhere. It may be a matter of simply asking around.

  • First, find out who the beekeepers are in your area.

  • Second, get their contact information from somewhere. Beekeepers sell honey and other products, someone will have their contact information.

  • Third, contact the beekeeper and let them know you’re interested in learning beekeeping. Ask if they offer or would consider offering a shadow program, mentor program, something hands-on so that you can begin learning.

  • Offer them something in return. This could be labor, perhaps helping to extract honey during a harvest. It could be contacts of retailers you know that would carry their honey. Get creative!

If you live anywhere in my area then you’re in luck!! I offer in-depth, total immersive, seasonal hands-on beekeeping courses. If you are in the tristate area of north Georgia, eastern Tennessee or western North Carolina, then you’re likely within range of Fannin County Georgia where I host my courses. You can also check out my website to learn more about my courses at BeeNativeHoney.com.

Dwight can’t believe that I offer SO much!

Do your best to find a local hands-on opportunity, some beekeepers charge $$ for it and others may not. Either way, you’re getting lots of amazing experience.

In the meantime, here are a couple of online resources for you…at least until I get my courses up and running 😉

Enjoying what you’re reading so far? Check out my book: The Intuitive Beekeeper, Beyond Master Beekeeping by clicking the picture below!

Jonathan Hargus

Available at Amazon.com & Barnes & Noble.

Get everything bee-related that you need this year from Blythewood Bee Company. Check out their inventory here! Blythewood Bee CO. Btw, the owner is the guy who invented Swarm Commander! Get yours and attract some free bees this year!

Thanks for reading all the way to the bottom 😉. I want to hear from you!

See you next time!

Jonathan Hargus//The Hive Doctor

It’s me!

Join the conversation

or to participate.